If you like to drive above the speed limit on the highways you're going to be putting yourself at more of a risk this week into next week. Through June 13th it's Speed Week, where New York State Police are cracking down on people who like to put the pedal to the metal.
According to the Spotlight:
The New York State Police are conducting a week-long enforcement initiative to crack down on speeding and aggressive drivers across the state. The “Speed Week” campaign started today and will run through Wednesday, June 13.
Troopers will be using both marked State Police vehicles and Concealed Identity Traffic Enforcement (CITE) vehicles as part of the operation.
Not only will there be some pretty big fines, but also points on your license as well for the violations.
Fines for speeding on 55 mph highway or posted 65 mph zones are as follows:
10 mph or less over the limit - min $45/max $150
11- 30 mph over the limit - min $90/max $300
31 mph or more over the limit - min $180/max $600
10 mph or less over the limit - min $45/max $300
11 - 30 over the limit - min $90 /max $450
31 or more over the limit - min $180/max $750
10 mph or less over the limit - min $45/max $525
11 - 30 over the limit - min $90 /max $675
31 or more over the limit - min $180/max $975
Court Surcharges are as follows:
Town or village courts - $93
Other Courts (city traffic courts, etc.) - $88
Violation Point Structure:
1-10 mph over limit = 3 points
11-20 mph over limit = 4 points
21 - 30 mph over limit = 6 points
30 - 40 mph over limit = 8 points
More than 40 mph over limit = 11 points (triggers suspension)